North Lanarkshire

Ravenscraig East

Pre-application6 sources275 MWVery large
Where it stands6 independent sources
  1. Announced
  2. Proposal notice
  3. Application
  4. Decision
  5. Built

EIA screening 25/00744/EIASCR lodged 18 Jul 2025. A full application can follow 12 weeks after a notice. Decisions on data centres of 50 MW or more are currently paused for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted.

Have your say · council applicationNo application to comment on yet. At proposal stage, comments go to the developer's public events.Council record 25/00744/EIASCR ↗How to have your say
Size275 MWVery large6.9% of Scotland's winter peak demandSite about 42 ha
Surroundings
  • Nearest building 151 m · 378 within 500 m
  • 4% of the site in a surface water flood zone
  • Ancient woodland (GARDEN WOOD WISHAWHILL WOOD) overlaps the site
See the map
Public responseNo public comments published yet.
How the flags work

Red: nearest building within 100 m, 10% or more of the site in a flood zone, or a designation overlapping the site. Amber: building within 500 m, any flood-zone overlap, or a designation within 500 m. Green: none of these. Measured from the council's application site; buildings from OpenStreetMap, flood zones from SEPA, designations from NatureScot and Historic Environment Scotland.

Overview

Second half of the SevenFourEight scheme. 550MW is the combined figure for East and West; shown here as half each.

The developer's case

We have not found a project website or public statement from the developer beyond what is listed below.

Apatura website ↗

Jobs in context

Permanent jobs claimed567East and West combined
At the 1.6 per MW study averageabout 880for 550 MW
Claimed jobs per MW1.0
This scheme's claim1.0
Industry modeltechUK, based on older, smaller sites8.5
Planned UK sitesVerdant study of 20 schemes, 20261.6
QTS Cambois, Northumberland720 MW, about 400 jobs0.56

Permanent jobs per megawatt of capacity. This claim is below the study's average for planned sites.

Construction jobs are real but temporary. Figures for "job-years", "jobs supported" or "indirect" jobs count work elsewhere in the economy, not people on site. The per-MW measure comes from the think tank Verdant; techUK says it misses jobs supported outside the site, and the UK Government calls it misleading. The Next Web Resultsense

Claimed benefits

InvestmentDeveloper estimate £3.9bn (East and West) Scottish Construction Now FutureScot
Local spendNot stated
Economic value (GVA)Not stated
Community benefitPromise only £3.3m a year (combined) Resultsense
Skills and trainingNot stated
  • Developer estimate The developer's own figure for what it plans to spend. Not a commitment.
  • Modelled estimate Comes from an economic model the developer paid for. Not checked independently.
  • Promise only Not yet written into a legal agreement (Section 75) or a planning condition, so it cannot be enforced.
  • Secured Written into a signed legal agreement or planning condition.

None of these benefits is secured yet for any scheme we track. GVA (gross value added) is the economic output a scheme is modelled to add.

Site and design

LandFormer steelworks Scottish Construction Now
Power supplyClaim 550MW grid by 2030; battery storage Scottish Construction Now

Items marked Claim are the developer's own figures, not independently checked.

The objectors' case

No organised objection or formal objections found yet. Know of a campaign group? Use Report incorrect data at the top of the page.

Site and surroundings

Loading map layers…
Site centreResidentialIndustrial / commercialWoodland River floodSurface water floodCoastal flood SSSI / SAC / SPAAncient woodlandHeritage designation Listed buildingSchool, care or healthPower line250 m · 500 m · 1 km from the site centre

See the exact red-line boundary on the council's map ↗ · Building counts and flood shares are measured from the council's application boundary; the rings are drawn from the site centre. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors, available under the Open Database Licence. Flood maps © SEPA; designations © NatureScot and © Historic Environment Scotland; all under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.

Planning

Where it stands: PAN done · awaiting application.

  1. Proposal of application noticeNot found on the council portal
  2. EIA screening or scoping25/00744/EIASCR · EIA Not Required · 18 Jul 2025
  3. Planning application lodgedNot yet lodged
  4. Council decision
Site locationCentre of the application site for 25/00838/PAN, about 42 ha. Grid reference E 278233 N 656785. East part of the combined East and West PAN boundary.
See the red-line boundary on North Lanarkshire Council's map ↗
Council planning record · North Lanarkshire Council
ReferenceTypeStatusDateApplicant
25/00838/PANPAN for 550MW campus (East and West)PAN accepted (comments issued)14 Aug 2025
25/00744/EIASCREIA screening (East)EIA Not Required18 Jul 2025

Rules that apply

  • Over 50MW, the council must notify Scottish Ministers within seven days of validating an application (in force since 17 Aug 2026). Scottish Government
  • Over 50MW, an Environmental Impact Assessment is now mandatory (Direction of 16 Sep 2026), including for applications already in the system. Scottish Government
  • On 16 Sep 2026 MSPs backed pausing planning decisions on large data centres for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted, expected by December 2026. Resultsense
  • For a major development, the developer must lodge a proposal of application notice and hold at least two public events, and cannot submit the application until 12 weeks after the notice.

Search the North Lanarkshire planning portal for the latest documents, consultee responses and public comments.

Sources