City of Edinburgh

Wester Hermiston

Pre-application4 sources200 MWLarge
Where it stands4 independent sources
  1. Announced
  2. Proposal notice
  3. Application
  4. Decision
  5. Built

Proposal notice 25/03978/PAN lodged 22 Aug 2025. A full application can follow 12 weeks after a notice. Decisions on data centres of 50 MW or more are currently paused for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted.

Have your say · council applicationNo application to comment on yet. At proposal stage, comments go to the developer's public events.Council record 25/03978/PAN ↗How to have your say
Have your say · petition6,150 signaturesStop the hyperscale AI data centre at Hermiston ↗Signing a petition does not lodge an official objection with the council. Only comments made on the planning application count in the decision.
Size200 MWLarge5.0% of Scotland's winter peak demandSite about 25.1 ha
Surroundings
  • Nearest building 12 m · 71 within 500 m
  • 1% of the site in a surface water flood zone
  • Scheduled monument (Union Canal, Fountainbridge to River Almond) overlaps the site
See the map
Public responseNo council comments published yet. Petition: 6,150 signatures.
How the flags work

Red: nearest building within 100 m, 10% or more of the site in a flood zone, or a designation overlapping the site. Amber: building within 500 m, any flood-zone overlap, or a designation within 500 m. Green: none of these. Measured from the council's application site; buildings from OpenStreetMap, flood zones from SEPA, designations from NatureScot and Historic Environment Scotland.

Overview

About 24ha near Heriot-Watt's Riccarton campus. The council screened out an EIA; Scottish Ministers ruled one is required.

The developer's case

Apatura's consultation website for the Wester Hermiston campus sets out the plans and takes feedback. Apatura consultation site

Consultation website ↗

Jobs in context

Permanent jobs claimed332
At the 1.6 per MW study averageabout 320for 200 MW
Claimed jobs per MW1.7
This scheme's claim1.7
Industry modeltechUK, based on older, smaller sites8.5
Planned UK sitesVerdant study of 20 schemes, 20261.6
QTS Cambois, Northumberland720 MW, about 400 jobs0.56

Permanent jobs per megawatt of capacity. This claim is close to the study's average for planned sites.

Construction jobs are real but temporary. Figures for "job-years", "jobs supported" or "indirect" jobs count work elsewhere in the economy, not people on site. The per-MW measure comes from the think tank Verdant; techUK says it misses jobs supported outside the site, and the UK Government calls it misleading. The Next Web Resultsense

Claimed benefits

InvestmentNot stated
Local spendNot stated
Economic value (GVA)Not stated
Community benefitPromise only £1.2m a year Resultsense
Skills and trainingNot stated
  • Developer estimate The developer's own figure for what it plans to spend. Not a commitment.
  • Modelled estimate Comes from an economic model the developer paid for. Not checked independently.
  • Promise only Not yet written into a legal agreement (Section 75) or a planning condition, so it cannot be enforced.
  • Secured Written into a signed legal agreement or planning condition.

None of these benefits is secured yet for any scheme we track. GVA (gross value added) is the economic output a scheme is modelled to add.

The opening lines summarise in our own words how the developer presents the scheme. Items marked Claim are the developer's own figures, not independently checked.

The objectors' case

The petition asks the City of Edinburgh Council and the Scottish Government to give one of Scotland's largest proposed data centres full scrutiny, and says it would take greenfield land. change.org petition

petition signatures6,150

Petitions and campaigns

Claims checked

ClaimWhat we found
Campaign claim More than 30 hectares of greenfield land change.org petitionPartly matches The proposal notice boundary we measured is about 25 ha. The site could change at application stage.

The opening lines summarise in our own words how objectors present their case. Campaign claims get the same checks as the developer's figures. Petition signatures are not verified as local and are not formal objections to the council.

Site and surroundings

Loading map layers…
Site centreResidentialIndustrial / commercialWoodland River floodSurface water floodCoastal flood SSSI / SAC / SPAAncient woodlandHeritage designation Listed buildingSchool, care or healthPower line250 m · 500 m · 1 km from the site centre

See the exact red-line boundary on the council's map ↗ · Building counts and flood shares are measured from the council's application boundary; the rings are drawn from the site centre. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors, available under the Open Database Licence. Flood maps © SEPA; designations © NatureScot and © Historic Environment Scotland; all under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.

Planning

Where it stands: PAN done · awaiting application.

  1. Proposal of application notice25/03978/PAN · Pre-application Consultation approved. · 22 Aug 2025
  2. EIA screening or scoping25/05576/SCR · EIA Not Required · 06 May 2026
  3. Planning application lodgedNot yet lodged
  4. Council decision
Site locationCentre of the application site for 25/03978/PAN, about 25.1 ha. Grid reference E 316961 N 670148.
See the red-line boundary on City of Edinburgh Council's map ↗
Council planning record · City of Edinburgh Council
ReferenceTypeStatusDateApplicant
25/03978/PANProposal of application noticePre-application Consultation approved.22 Aug 2025Apatura DC Project 11 Ltd
25/02924/SCREIA screening (2025)EIA Not Required04 Jul 2025Apatura DC Project 11 Ltd
25/05576/SCREIA screening (2026)EIA Not Required06 May 2026AAH Consultants

Rules that apply

  • Over 50MW, the council must notify Scottish Ministers within seven days of validating an application (in force since 17 Aug 2026). Scottish Government
  • Over 50MW, an Environmental Impact Assessment is now mandatory (Direction of 16 Sep 2026), including for applications already in the system. Scottish Government
  • On 16 Sep 2026 MSPs backed pausing planning decisions on large data centres for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted, expected by December 2026. Resultsense
  • For a major development, the developer must lodge a proposal of application notice and hold at least two public events, and cannot submit the application until 12 weeks after the notice.

Search the City of Edinburgh planning portal for the latest documents, consultee responses and public comments.

Sources