East Dunbartonshire

Westerhill, Bishopbriggs

Pre-application5 sources300 MWVery large
Where it stands5 independent sources
  1. Announced
  2. Proposal notice
  3. Application
  4. Decision
  5. Built

Proposal notice TP/ED/25/0428 lodged 16 Sep 2025. A full application can follow 12 weeks after a notice. Decisions on data centres of 50 MW or more are currently paused for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted.

Have your say · council applicationNo application to comment on yet. At proposal stage, comments go to the developer's public events.Council record TP/ED/25/0428 ↗How to have your say
Size300 MWVery large7.5% of Scotland's winter peak demandSite about 33.6 ha
Surroundings
  • Nearest building 42 m · 275 within 500 m
  • 3% of the site in a surface water flood zone
  • Ancient woodland (LOW MOSS PLANTATION) 402 m away
See the map
Public response1 against · 0 forOn TP/ED/25/0428
How the flags work

Red: nearest building within 100 m, 10% or more of the site in a flood zone, or a designation overlapping the site. Amber: building within 500 m, any flood-zone overlap, or a designation within 500 m. Green: none of these. Measured from the council's application site; buildings from OpenStreetMap, flood zones from SEPA, designations from NatureScot and Historic Environment Scotland.

Overview

300MW with 500MW battery storage, connecting at Lambhill substation. Apatura claims 501 on-site staff.

The developer's case

Presents the campus as bringing allocated employment land in the Westerhill Regeneration Area into use, with land in its ownership set aside for biodiversity. Apatura consultation site

Consultation website ↗

Consultation events

  • 29 Sep 2025 First pre-application exhibition, Allan Glens Rugby Club
  • 2026 Third public consultation held (date not given)

Public Notice Portal

Comments made at these events go to the developer. They are not formal comments to the council, which can only be made once an application is lodged.

Jobs in context

Permanent jobs claimed501
At the 1.6 per MW study averageabout 480for 300 MW
Claimed jobs per MW1.7
This scheme's claim1.7
Industry modeltechUK, based on older, smaller sites8.5
Planned UK sitesVerdant study of 20 schemes, 20261.6
QTS Cambois, Northumberland720 MW, about 400 jobs0.56

Permanent jobs per megawatt of capacity. This claim is close to the study's average for planned sites.

Construction jobs are real but temporary. Figures for "job-years", "jobs supported" or "indirect" jobs count work elsewhere in the economy, not people on site. The per-MW measure comes from the think tank Verdant; techUK says it misses jobs supported outside the site, and the UK Government calls it misleading. The Next Web Resultsense

Claimed benefits

InvestmentNot stated
Local spendNot stated
Economic value (GVA)Not stated
Community benefitPromise only £1.8m a year Resultsense
Skills and trainingNot stated
  • Developer estimate The developer's own figure for what it plans to spend. Not a commitment.
  • Modelled estimate Comes from an economic model the developer paid for. Not checked independently.
  • Promise only Not yet written into a legal agreement (Section 75) or a planning condition, so it cannot be enforced.
  • Secured Written into a signed legal agreement or planning condition.

None of these benefits is secured yet for any scheme we track. GVA (gross value added) is the economic output a scheme is modelled to add.

Site and design

LandWesterhill regeneration area Urban Realm
Power supplyClaim Lambhill substation; 500MW battery Urban Realm

The opening lines summarise in our own words how the developer presents the scheme. Items marked Claim are the developer's own figures, not independently checked.

The objectors' case

formal objections1

The opening lines summarise in our own words how objectors present their case. Campaign claims get the same checks as the developer's figures. Petition signatures are not verified as local and are not formal objections to the council.

Site and surroundings

Loading map layers…
Site centreResidentialIndustrial / commercialWoodland River floodSurface water floodCoastal flood SSSI / SAC / SPAAncient woodlandHeritage designation Listed buildingSchool, care or healthPower line250 m · 500 m · 1 km from the site centre

See the exact red-line boundary on the council's map ↗ · Building counts and flood shares are measured from the council's application boundary; the rings are drawn from the site centre. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors, available under the Open Database Licence. Flood maps © SEPA; designations © NatureScot and © Historic Environment Scotland; all under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.

Planning

Where it stands: PAN done · EIA required · awaiting application.

  1. Proposal of application noticeTP/ED/25/0428 · Closed · 16 Sep 2025
  2. EIA screening or scopingTP/ED/25/0245 · EIA Required · 08 Jul 2025
  3. Planning application lodgedNot yet lodged
  4. Council decision
Site locationCentre of the application site for TP/ED/25/0428, about 33.6 ha. Grid reference E 263214 N 671784.
See the red-line boundary on East Dunbartonshire Council's map ↗
Council planning record · East Dunbartonshire Council
ReferenceTypeStatusDateApplicant
TP/ED/25/0428Proposal of application noticeClosed16 Sep 2025Apatura DC Project 6 Ltd
TP/ED/25/0245EIA screeningEIA Required08 Jul 2025

Rules that apply

  • Over 50MW, the council must notify Scottish Ministers within seven days of validating an application (in force since 17 Aug 2026). Scottish Government
  • Over 50MW, an Environmental Impact Assessment is now mandatory (Direction of 16 Sep 2026), including for applications already in the system. Scottish Government
  • On 16 Sep 2026 MSPs backed pausing planning decisions on large data centres for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted, expected by December 2026. Resultsense
  • For a major development, the developer must lodge a proposal of application notice and hold at least two public events, and cannot submit the application until 12 weeks after the notice.

Search the East Dunbartonshire planning portal for the latest documents, consultee responses and public comments.

Public response

1against
0in support
0neutral

100% of comments that took a side were against. From the public comments tab of TP/ED/25/0428, read 19 Oct 2026. This council publishes the counts but not the comment text, so what people wrote cannot be analysed.

Concerns reported

  • Water, power and backup generation questions Resultsense

Case made for it

  • None reported

Issues as reported in news and campaign coverage, not a count of comments.

Sources