Overview
Multiple buildings on estate land about 50m from Hunterston Castle. Public events held 25–26 Aug 2026. Capacity not published; the on-site battery is 450MW.
The developer's case
Presents Hunterston as an existing energy and industrial hub with power, water, port and rail links, and the scheme as one of the largest private investments in Ayrshire's history. Eneus Energy
Project page ↗
Consultation events
- 25 Aug 2026 Pre-application event, West Kilbride Village Hall
- 26 Aug 2026 Pre-application event, Fairlie Village Hall
Public Notice Portal
Comments made at these events go to the developer. They are not formal comments to the council, which can only be made once an application is lodged.
Claim Construction: More than 1,000 jobs during construction Eneus Energy
Claimed benefits
| Investment | Developer estimate More than £10bn Eneus Energy |
|---|
| Local spend | Not stated |
|---|
| Economic value (GVA) | Not stated |
|---|
| Community benefit | Not stated |
|---|
| Skills and training | Not stated |
|---|
- Developer estimate The developer's own figure for what it plans to spend. Not a commitment.
- Modelled estimate Comes from an economic model the developer paid for. Not checked independently.
- Promise only Not yet written into a legal agreement (Section 75) or a planning condition, so it cannot be enforced.
- Secured Written into a signed legal agreement or planning condition.
None of these benefits is secured yet for any scheme we track. GVA (gross value added) is the economic output a scheme is modelled to add.
Site and design
Worth knowing: Says there will be 'a significant number' of permanent jobs but gives no figure.
The opening lines summarise in our own words how the developer presents the scheme. Items marked Claim are the developer's own figures, not independently checked.
The objectors' case
Objectors want the coast, countryside and heritage around Hunterston protected, and say farmland would become a major industrial complex. change.org petition
Petitions and campaigns
Claims checked
| Claim | What we found |
|---|
| Campaign claim About 84 hectares of agricultural land change.org petition | Doesn't match The developer's project page gives the site as about 164 acres, which is about 66 ha. |
| Campaign claim Buildings up to 35 metres high change.org petition | Not checked No application documents have been published yet to check this against. |
The opening lines summarise in our own words how objectors present their case. Campaign claims get the same checks as the developer's figures. Petition signatures are not verified as local and are not formal objections to the council.
Planning
Where it stands: PAN published · EIA scoping.
Proposal of application noticeNot found on the council portal
EIA screening or scoping26/00138/EIA · Scoping Agreed · 30 Mar 2026
Planning application lodgedNot yet lodged
Council decision
Site location: no site boundary is published on the council's planning map for this application. The position shown is approximate.
Council planning record · North Ayrshire Council
| Reference | Type | Status | Date | Applicant |
|---|
| 26/00138/EIA | EIA scoping | Scoping Agreed | 30 Mar 2026 | Tetra Tech |
Rules that apply
- Over 50MW, the council must notify Scottish Ministers within seven days of validating an application (in force since 17 Aug 2026). Scottish Government
- Over 50MW, an Environmental Impact Assessment is now mandatory (Direction of 16 Sep 2026), including for applications already in the system. Scottish Government
- On 16 Sep 2026 MSPs backed pausing planning decisions on large data centres for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted, expected by December 2026. Resultsense
- For a major development, the developer must lodge a proposal of application notice and hold at least two public events, and cannot submit the application until 12 weeks after the notice.
- No capacity has been published. The 50MW rules above apply if the scheme exceeds 50MW.
Search the North Ayrshire planning portal for the latest documents, consultee responses and public comments.
Public response
No public comments published on 26/00138/EIA yet (council portal, 19 Oct 2026).
Issues as reported in news and campaign coverage, not a count of comments.
Statutory consultees
9 consulted, 9 responded. Including: