North Ayrshire

i3 Industrial Park, Irvine

AI PathfinderAI Pathfinder (Salamanca Group)
Stalled5 sources1,000 MWGigawatt
Where it stands5 independent sources
  1. Announced
  2. Stalled
  3. Application
  4. Decision
  5. Built

Reported as stalled. There is no live planning application.

Have your say · council applicationNo open comment period.How to have your say
Size1,000 MWGigawatt25% of Scotland's winter peak demand
SurroundingsNot assessed: no council site location to measure from.
Public responseNo public comments published yet.
How the flags work

Red: nearest building within 100 m, 10% or more of the site in a flood zone, or a designation overlapping the site. Amber: building within 500 m, any flood-zone overlap, or a designation within 500 m. Green: none of these. Measured from the council's application site; buildings from OpenStreetMap, flood zones from SEPA, designations from NatureScot and Historic Environment Scotland.

Overview

Announced as a £15bn, 1GW campus scaling to 1.5GW, due to open in 2026. No planning application or PAN has been lodged.

Sources disagree: Reports that it has stalled rest on a July 2026 Bloomberg investigation, seen here only through APRS's summary.

The developer's case

We have not found a project website or public statement from the developer beyond what is listed below.

Jobs in context

Permanent jobs claimedNone published
At the 1.6 per MW study averageabout 1,600for 1,000 MW
Industry modeltechUK, based on older, smaller sites8.5
Planned UK sitesVerdant study of 20 schemes, 20261.6
QTS Cambois, Northumberland720 MW, about 400 jobs0.56

Permanent jobs per megawatt of capacity.

Construction jobs are real but temporary. Figures for "job-years", "jobs supported" or "indirect" jobs count work elsewhere in the economy, not people on site. The per-MW measure comes from the think tank Verdant; techUK says it misses jobs supported outside the site, and the UK Government calls it misleading. The Next Web Resultsense

Claimed benefits

InvestmentDeveloper estimate £15bn STV News Irvine Times
Local spendNot stated
Economic value (GVA)Not stated
Community benefitNot stated
Skills and trainingNot stated
  • Developer estimate The developer's own figure for what it plans to spend. Not a commitment.
  • Modelled estimate Comes from an economic model the developer paid for. Not checked independently.
  • Promise only Not yet written into a legal agreement (Section 75) or a planning condition, so it cannot be enforced.
  • Secured Written into a signed legal agreement or planning condition.

None of these benefits is secured yet for any scheme we track. GVA (gross value added) is the economic output a scheme is modelled to add.

Site and design

Landi3 enterprise area STV News

Items marked Claim are the developer's own figures, not independently checked.

The objectors' case

No organised objection or formal objections found yet. Know of a campaign group? Use Report incorrect data at the top of the page.

Planning

This scheme is reported as stalled. No planning application has been lodged.

Site location: no site boundary is published on the council's planning map for this application. The position shown is approximate.
Council North Ayrshire Council: no data centre application at Irvine on the planning portal. Searched 18 Oct 2026.

Search the North Ayrshire planning portal for the latest documents, consultee responses and public comments.

Sources