Dumfries and Galloway

Chapelcross (CX Technology Campus)

Application lodged7 sources1,000 MWGigawatt
Where it stands7 independent sources
  1. Announced
  2. Proposal notice
  3. Application
  4. Decision
  5. Built

Application 26/1649/PIP lodged 28 Sep 2026; awaiting the council's decision. Decisions on data centres of 50 MW or more are paused for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted (expected by December 2026).

Have your say · council application22 days left to commentCloses 15 Nov 2026Comment on the application ↗Council record 26/1649/PIP ↗How to write a comment that counts
Have your say · petition5,051 signaturesHalt plans for the hyperscale data centre near Annan ↗Signing a petition does not lodge an official objection with the council. Only comments made on the planning application count in the decision.
Size1,000 MWGigawatt25% of Scotland's winter peak demandSite about 56.5 ha
Surroundings
  • Nearest building 21 m · 178 within 500 m
  • Outside SEPA flood zones
  • Ancient woodland (GILL WOOD) 457 m away
See the map
Public responseNo council comments published yet. Petition: 5,051 signatures.
How the flags work

Red: nearest building within 100 m, 10% or more of the site in a flood zone, or a designation overlapping the site. Amber: building within 500 m, any flood-zone overlap, or a designation within 500 m. Green: none of these. Measured from the council's application site; buildings from OpenStreetMap, flood zones from SEPA, designations from NatureScot and Historic Environment Scotland.

Overview

Planning permission in principle (ref 26/1649/PIP) for eight buildings of about 120MW each, up to 162,000 sq m, on land north of the former nuclear station. Developer cites £16.5bn, about 450 permanent jobs and a 2027–2035 build.

Sources disagree: Lodging date given as 28 Sep (validation) or 30 Sep (announcement). Permanent jobs reported as 450 or 540.

The developer's case

Presents the campus as a new chapter for the former nuclear site: major private investment, a dedicated training centre, and work for local suppliers across Dumfries and Galloway. CX Technology Campus

Project website ↗Community events ↗

Consultation events

  • May–Jun 2026 Community information events in Creca and Annan
  • Early 2027 Meet the Buyer event for local suppliers Upcoming

Comments made at these events go to the developer. They are not formal comments to the council, which can only be made once an application is lodged.

Claim Construction: About 750 jobs over the eight-year build, plus 40 apprenticeships a year CX Technology Campus

Jobs in context

Permanent jobs claimed540
At the 1.6 per MW study averageabout 1,600for 1,000 MW
Claimed jobs per MW0.54
This scheme's claim0.54
Industry modeltechUK, based on older, smaller sites8.5
Planned UK sitesVerdant study of 20 schemes, 20261.6
QTS Cambois, Northumberland720 MW, about 400 jobs0.56

Permanent jobs per megawatt of capacity. This claim is below the study's average for planned sites.

Construction jobs are real but temporary. Figures for "job-years", "jobs supported" or "indirect" jobs count work elsewhere in the economy, not people on site. The per-MW measure comes from the think tank Verdant; techUK says it misses jobs supported outside the site, and the UK Government calls it misleading. The Next Web Resultsense

Claimed benefits

InvestmentDeveloper estimate £16.5bn IT Brief UK Resultsense
Local spendNot stated
Economic value (GVA)Not stated
Community benefitNot stated
Skills and trainingPromise only Dedicated training centre for digital, engineering and energy careers; about 40 apprenticeships a year during construction CX Technology Campus
OtherPromise only Meet the Buyer event for local suppliers, early 2027 CX Technology Campus
  • Developer estimate The developer's own figure for what it plans to spend. Not a commitment.
  • Modelled estimate Comes from an economic model the developer paid for. Not checked independently.
  • Promise only Not yet written into a legal agreement (Section 75) or a planning condition, so it cannot be enforced.
  • Secured Written into a signed legal agreement or planning condition.

None of these benefits is secured yet for any scheme we track. GVA (gross value added) is the economic output a scheme is modelled to add.

Site and design

LandNext to former nuclear site
Power supplyClaim Private wire to wind, solar and biomass explored Resultsense
Cooling and waterClaim Closed loop, non-evaporative Resultsense

The opening lines summarise in our own words how the developer presents the scheme. Items marked Claim are the developer's own figures, not independently checked.

The objectors' case

Objectors focus on the scale of a 1 GW campus, its energy use and its effect on bills and emissions. A Scottish Green MSP has called for it to be rejected. IT Brief UK Scottish Parliament

petition signatures5,051

Petitions and campaigns

Claims checked

ClaimWhat we found
Campaign claim The data centre alone would take up about 22 football pitches change.org petitionMatches The application's 162,000 sq m of data-centre floorspace is about 23 football pitches.

The opening lines summarise in our own words how objectors present their case. Campaign claims get the same checks as the developer's figures. Petition signatures are not verified as local and are not formal objections to the council.

Site and surroundings

Loading map layers…
Site centreResidentialIndustrial / commercialWoodland River floodSurface water floodCoastal flood SSSI / SAC / SPAAncient woodlandHeritage designation Listed buildingSchool, care or healthPower line250 m · 500 m · 1 km from the site centre

See the exact red-line boundary on the council's map ↗ · Building counts and flood shares are measured from the council's application boundary; the rings are drawn from the site centre. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors, available under the Open Database Licence. Flood maps © SEPA; designations © NatureScot and © Historic Environment Scotland; all under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.

Planning

Where it stands: Validated 28 Sep 2026 · consultation open to 15 Nov 2026.

  1. Proposal of application notice26/0855/PAN · Planning Notice Accepted · 01 Jun 2026
  2. EIA screening or scoping26/0464/SCO · Response issued to consultation · 19 Jun 2026
  3. Planning application lodged26/1649/PIP · Assessment Stage · 28 Sep 2026
  4. Council decisionAwaiting decision
Site locationCentre of the application site for 26/1649/PIP, about 56.5 ha. Grid reference E 321845 N 570467.
See the red-line boundary on Dumfries and Galloway Council's map ↗
Council planning record · Dumfries and Galloway Council
ReferenceTypeStatusDateApplicant
26/1649/PIPPlanning permission in principleAssessment Stage28 Sep 2026
26/0855/PANProposal of application noticePlanning Notice Accepted01 Jun 2026
26/0464/SCOEIA scopingResponse issued to consultation19 Jun 2026

Rules that apply

  • Over 50MW, the council must notify Scottish Ministers within seven days of validating an application (in force since 17 Aug 2026). Scottish Government
  • Over 50MW, an Environmental Impact Assessment is now mandatory (Direction of 16 Sep 2026), including for applications already in the system. Scottish Government
  • On 16 Sep 2026 MSPs backed pausing planning decisions on large data centres for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted, expected by December 2026. Resultsense

Search the Dumfries and Galloway planning portal for the latest documents, consultee responses and public comments.

Public response

No public comments published on 26/1649/PIP yet (council portal, 19 Oct 2026). The consultation is open until 15 Nov 2026; comments often appear on the portal some days after they are sent.

Petition: Petition nearing 3,000 signatures Bricks & Bytes

Concerns reported

Case made for it

  • Up to 750 construction jobs and about 450 permanent roles IT Brief UK

Issues as reported in news and campaign coverage, not a count of comments.

Statutory consultees

28 consulted, 0 responded. Including: Scottish Water · Annan Community Council · Nuclear Decommissioning Authority · Transport Scotland · Environmental Health · Scottish Environment Protection Agency · Team Leader Flood Risk Management · Council Archaeologist · Contaminated Land Officer · NatureScot

Sources