Scottish Borders

Southside Data Centre, Longformacus

Sunlaws Development Co.Sunlaws Development Co. (Roxburghe Estate)
Pre-application5 sources225 MWLarge
Where it stands5 independent sources
  1. Announced
  2. Proposal notice
  3. Application
  4. Decision
  5. Built

Proposal notice 26/00809/PAN lodged 25 May 2026. A full application can follow 12 weeks after a notice. Decisions on data centres of 50 MW or more are currently paused for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted.

Have your say · council applicationNo application to comment on yet. At proposal stage, comments go to the developer's public events.Council record 26/00809/PAN ↗How to have your say
Have your say · petition48,812 signaturesSave the Lammermuirs: stop the data centre ↗Signing a petition does not lodge an official objection with the council. Only comments made on the planning application count in the decision.
Size225 MWLarge5.6% of Scotland's winter peak demandSite about 131.7 ha
Surroundings
  • Nearest building 5 m · 44 within 500 m
  • 3% of the site in a river flood zone
  • Scheduled monument (Longformacus House,enclosed cremation cemetery 1450m SW of) 95 m away
See the map
Public responseNo council comments published yet. Petition: 48,812 signatures.
How the flags work

Red: nearest building within 100 m, 10% or more of the site in a flood zone, or a designation overlapping the site. Amber: building within 500 m, any flood-zone overlap, or a designation within 500 m. Green: none of these. Measured from the council's application site; buildings from OpenStreetMap, flood zones from SEPA, designations from NatureScot and Historic Environment Scotland.

Overview

151ha at Clawbare Cottage with three two-storey buildings, about £2bn. Scoping opinion issued; application targeted for late 2026 or early 2027, construction from 2029.

The developer's case

Promoted by Roxburghe Estates and a local landowner as driving regional economic development and local jobs. Baxtel

Consultation events

  • 4 Jun 2026 Early engagement session, Longformacus Village Hall
  • 10 Jun 2026 Consultation event, Westruther Village Hall

Public Notice Portal Public Notice Portal

Comments made at these events go to the developer. They are not formal comments to the council, which can only be made once an application is lodged.

Jobs in context

Permanent jobs claimedNone published
At the 1.6 per MW study averageabout 360for 225 MW
Industry modeltechUK, based on older, smaller sites8.5
Planned UK sitesVerdant study of 20 schemes, 20261.6
QTS Cambois, Northumberland720 MW, about 400 jobs0.56

Permanent jobs per megawatt of capacity.

Construction jobs are real but temporary. Figures for "job-years", "jobs supported" or "indirect" jobs count work elsewhere in the economy, not people on site. The per-MW measure comes from the think tank Verdant; techUK says it misses jobs supported outside the site, and the UK Government calls it misleading. The Next Web Resultsense

Claimed benefits

InvestmentDeveloper estimate About £2bn Baxtel
Local spendNot stated
Economic value (GVA)Not stated
Community benefitNot stated
Skills and trainingNot stated
  • Developer estimate The developer's own figure for what it plans to spend. Not a commitment.
  • Modelled estimate Comes from an economic model the developer paid for. Not checked independently.
  • Promise only Not yet written into a legal agreement (Section 75) or a planning condition, so it cannot be enforced.
  • Secured Written into a signed legal agreement or planning condition.

None of these benefits is secured yet for any scheme we track. GVA (gross value added) is the economic output a scheme is modelled to add.

Site and design

LandGreenfield estate land Baxtel
Worth knowing: No jobs figures published.

The opening lines summarise in our own words how the developer presents the scheme. Items marked Claim are the developer's own figures, not independently checked.

The objectors' case

Objectors ask why a data centre should go in the Lammermuir Hills, which they describe as a treasured landscape known for wildlife, open moorland, dark skies, hill farming and tranquillity. change.org petition

petition signatures48,812

Petitions and campaigns

The opening lines summarise in our own words how objectors present their case. Campaign claims get the same checks as the developer's figures. Petition signatures are not verified as local and are not formal objections to the council.

Site and surroundings

Loading map layers…
Site centreResidentialIndustrial / commercialWoodland River floodSurface water floodCoastal flood SSSI / SAC / SPAAncient woodlandHeritage designation Listed buildingSchool, care or healthPower line250 m · 500 m · 1 km from the site centre

See the exact red-line boundary on the council's map ↗ · Building counts and flood shares are measured from the council's application boundary; the rings are drawn from the site centre. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors, available under the Open Database Licence. Flood maps © SEPA; designations © NatureScot and © Historic Environment Scotland; all under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Contains OS data © Crown copyright and database right 2026.

Planning

Where it stands: Pre-application events held Jun 2026.

  1. Proposal of application notice26/00809/PAN · Decided · 25 May 2026
  2. EIA screening or scoping26/01031/SCO · Decided · 08 Jul 2026
  3. Planning application lodgedNot yet lodged
  4. Council decision
Site locationCentre of the application site for 26/00809/PAN, about 131.7 ha. Grid reference E 367272 N 654742. Boundary includes the access and grid connection corridor.
See the red-line boundary on Scottish Borders Council's map ↗
Council planning record · Scottish Borders Council
ReferenceTypeStatusDateApplicant
26/01031/SCOEIA scopingDecided08 Jul 2026Sunlaws Development Company Ltd
26/00809/PANProposal of application noticeDecided25 May 2026Sunlaws Development Company Ltd
25/01835/SCREIA screeningDecided11 Dec 2025Sunlaws Development Company Ltd

Rules that apply

  • Over 50MW, the council must notify Scottish Ministers within seven days of validating an application (in force since 17 Aug 2026). Scottish Government
  • Over 50MW, an Environmental Impact Assessment is now mandatory (Direction of 16 Sep 2026), including for applications already in the system. Scottish Government
  • On 16 Sep 2026 MSPs backed pausing planning decisions on large data centres for up to 12 months while national guidance is drafted, expected by December 2026. Resultsense
  • For a major development, the developer must lodge a proposal of application notice and hold at least two public events, and cannot submit the application until 12 weeks after the notice.

Search the Scottish Borders planning portal for the latest documents, consultee responses and public comments.

Public response

No public comments published on 26/01031/SCO yet (council portal, 19 Oct 2026).

Concerns reported

  • Landscape of the Lammermuir Hills; campaign group formed Urban Realm

Case made for it

  • None reported

Issues as reported in news and campaign coverage, not a count of comments.

Statutory consultees

14 consulted, 9 responded. Including: Roads Planning Service · Archaeology Officer · Ecology Officer · Landscape Architect · Environmental Health · Access Officer · Health & Safety Executive · Royal Society For Protection Of Birds (Scotland) · Nature.Scot

Sources